top of page
  • Writer's picturesofiteme

Girls Matters!

Let me shout that louder. GIRLS MATTER!!!! 

Girls Matter! is the CFC’s gender education program that has been dear to me and my family for almost 10 years now.  Women’s and girls' rights have been the forefront of my advocacy for over 30 years. Why? Because growing up, I was personally pitted with the expectation that a girl's life belongs in the house - for her immediate and future families.  Dreams and visions of doing something awesome was considered selfish. Education opened my eyes beyond this expectation. It taught me to advocate for myself, and strengthen my wings ensuring that my hope and vision are not smothered in the name of tradition. 

In Cambodia, for most girls, basic rights to education is not easily accessible because of poverty.  It’s the main obstacles in preventing children from completing high school. When a girl reaches “working age," she is expected to go out to earn money to support the family.  Recent years of growth in the garment industry and construction have been a big draw for young workers. Immediate household needs outweighs educational goals. At CFC schools, counselors and teachers not only work with parents and their villages to ensure their children remain and perform in school, but it’s within the program of Girls Matter! to help develop their vision of who they might want to be beyond the CFC campus. 

Join me in continuing to make a difference for every girl who enter the CFC schools.  Since inception, both male and female students benefit from the Girls Matter! program. Girls Matter! opens their eyes to their potential, providing counselors to help them maneuver through academic challenges at home.  Thank you for helping make an impact in girls' education.



4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page